Bookie Andy Smith to cycle from Cheltenham to Killarney for JT and Jonjo


Racecourse bookmaker Andy Smith, who trades as Festival Racing, is to undertake a very ambitious cycle ride from Cheltenham to Killarney. His efforts are to raise money in aid of injured jockeys JT McNamara and Jonjo Bright, as much as possible for gaining all those saddle sores. Please spread the word as much as possible and support what is I am sure all racing fans will agree a very worthy cause. In Andy’s own words below.
IMG-20130508-WA0000
Two weeks ago my daughter, Olivia Smith was lucky enough to be running the London Marathon.  She decided it would be nice to raise funds for JT McNamara and Jonjo Bright as you would well know was also left paralysed by a bad fall.  Olivia managed to raise quite a few hundred pounds with her début marathon run.  It was then decided I would deliver the money personally to Ireland and have since decided to ride from the home of National Hunt Racing Cheltenham to Killarney to coincide with their May Festival – where a fund raising evening has been arranged.  I shall be leaving Cheltenham Thursday morning and cycling to Chepstow to be joined by their clerk of the course Mr Keith Otteson who is an accomplished and enthusiastic cyclist unlike me!! We will then cycle to Fishguard via the Brecon Becons.  We will take the ferry to Rosslare where we will then start the 266 km ride to Killarney where we will hopefully arrive in time for the first race.
 
Over the last week or so many bookmakers, punters, trainers and owners have kindly sponsored Olivia and myself.  So hopefully thanks to Olivia’s idea we could well raise a few thousand pounds.  I am looking forward to this even though I am under no illusion how hard it will be and so I would like to thank not only all the sponsors but my daughter Olivia for kick starting the idea and Keith Otteson for giving up his time to drag me up the hills. 
 
 I have been involved in racing all my life and feel that the jockeys are the bravest sportsmen around and it is great to try to help unfortunate people like JT and Jonjo.  If anybody would still like to sponsor me please contact me or one of the girls.
Andy Smith
Leave a Reply

