Exeter 06/12/13 not really a tale, but a tell tale?


Exeter was a glorious place to be today, a lovely sky blue crisp and dry afternoon to enjoy the racing up at the top of Haldon Hill. Sadly I wasn’t in the thick of the action  so couldn’t get the usual in-depth low-down from the layers but did get the gist of things. It wasn’t a very good afternoon for the ring. There were four odds-on shots, three of them won and the one that got beaten was done by a David Pipe gamble of sorts backed from 2/1 into 6/4. Of the three other winners two were well-supported 11/2 into 9/2 and 11/4 into 2/1. The biggest-priced winner was 10/1 shot Major Malarkey  in the Devon Marathon Handicap Chase but in a race 9/2 the field and from the Nigel Twiston-Davies yard that was hardly a result either. That adds up to a losing day for most, which isn’t great if you are a bookie.

He has plenty of mates really but I'd imagine they are all a bit poorer this evening.

He has plenty of mates really but I’d imagine they are all a bit poorer this evening.

 

Quite understandably then some members of the bookmaking community were on the grumpy side. One chap who still works in the ring asked me how many copies of Skint Mob! I had sold. I told him that I’d sold a few but had some left if he’d like one. I was quite shocked when he replied that ‘No I do not want one’, not that I expect everyone to buy a copy of course, but because of his reason. He’s not read it but someone  has apparently told him about some of the things I had written about floormen and what they had gotten up to in days gone by. I won’t go into too much detail because I wouldn’t want to ruin the read, but he had the right hump and he wasn’t buying one because of that.

Now I thought that I’d written a true but fairly harmless and light-hearted account of those much-missed days gone by. Maybe too truthful in this fella’s case. He’s hardly going to get an old employer knocking on his door, eyes squinting in suspicion, rasping ‘Was it you?’ while holding out a bony talon in expectation of remuneration. The only reason I can think of that he was quite so disgruntled is that he was getting a tap on the shoulder from that old rascal ‘Guilty Conscience’!

I didn’t mean him personally of course it was just a generalisation. Though to be honest I’m half expecting to get the double up with the guy I have described but not named who welched his way around the  ring getting the needle asking if I meant him. Watch this space!

(C) Simon Nott

Skint Mob! is a 200 page king-sized paperback book with full colour photographs. It brings to life the betting rings of UK racecourses from Aintree to Ascot and Newton Abbot to Newbury via point to points and the odd nip into a betting shop. The author uses his own experiences working for bookmakers since the late 1980′s as a vehicle to bring to life the colour and characters of that most vibrant and exciting of habitats. Add a liberal sprinkling of humour and you have a must-read for all fans of UK racing and its unique atmosphere. Cost £9.99 plus postage. Now Available on eBay http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/-/281209985067?roken=uMXnXl

Skint Mob! Tales From The Betting Ring. OUT NOW

Skint Mob! Tales From The Betting Ring. OUT NOW

Leave a Reply

